Hougum Law Firm Team

Meet Our Team

The team at Hougum Law Firm, LLC has one Mission: We are passionate about educating people who are concerned with preserving their assets. Now, during their lifetime, and after they pass.

Hougum Law Firm, LLC can help you protect yourself and the people you love with strategic wealth planning strategies. We serve all of Wisconsin with offices in Wausau and Rhinelander.

Alan Hougum

Alan Hougum

Attorney at Law

Alan's Bio

Practice Areas: Estate Planning; Probate and Trust Administration; Business Law

Education: B.S., University of Wisconsin – Madison, 1995

J.D., University of Minnesota Law School; (cum laude) 1999

Admitted To Practice:
Wisconsin Supreme Court

Bar Associations:
American Bar Association, State Bar of Wisconsin, Minnesota State Bar Association, Marathon County Bar Association

Civic Activities:
Camp HOPE, Counselor
Camp HOPE, Director
Legal Assistance to Military Personnel, Volunteer
Junior Achievement, Project Business Consultant
Legal Assistance at the Marathon County ADRC, Volunteer
United Way, Group Leader
Big Brothers/Big Sisters of North Central Wisconsin, Big Brother
Marathon County Public Library Foundation, Board of Directors

 Background information: Alan L. Hougum grew up in Edgar, Wisconsin, just off of County Road N. He attended undergraduate school at UW-Madison, and worked as a forklift driver and a textbook salesman in Texas between semesters to pay for school. After graduating cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School, Alan returned to central Wisconsin to practice in the areas of Estate Planning and Elder Law. In 2013, Alan opened Hougum Law Firm, LLC in Wausau.  A satellite office in Rhinelander opened in 2021. Alan has been practicing law for more than twenty years, and currently resides in Wausau with his wife and two children.

Sarah Reed Attorney

Sarah Reed

Attorney at Law

Sarah's Bio

Sarah J. Reed grew up in Phillips, Wisconsin. She attended undergraduate school at the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire where she majored in political science and minored in pre-law.  After working at a reputable law firm in Phillips after graduation, Sarah went on to attend Mitchell Hamline School of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota.  Sarah has been working in the Wausau area as an attorney since 2019.  Sarah currently resides in Weston, Wisconsin with her husband and two dogs.

Attorney Amanda Trecartin

Amanda Trecartin

Attorney at Law

Amanda's Bio

Amanda M. Trecartin Amanda obtained her bachelor’s degree in social work from Andrews University where she graduated summa cum laude. She attended law school at UW-Madison, where she served as a Senior Managing Editor of the Wisconsin Law Review. During law school she also worked in the Family Court Clinic where she helped low-income individuals with divorce and custody issues. Amanda recently joined the Wausau community, and has enjoyed exploring the local hiking trails and disc golf courses with her husband and goldendoodle.

Zoey Vecellio

Zoey Vecellio

Director of Operations
zoey@hougumlaw.com

Mindy Nyseth

Mindy Nyseth

Paralegal
mindy@hougumlaw.com

Cindy Wachsmuth

Cindy Wachsmuth

Client Services Coordinator
cindy@hougumlaw.com

Katarina Lepinski

Katarina Lepinski

Medicaid Legal Assistant
kat@hougumlaw.com

Tiffany Combs

Tiffany Combs

Funding Specialist
tiffany@hougumlaw.com

Maegge Schmitz

Maegge Schmitz

Funding Specialist
maegge@hougumlaw.com

Suzi Peaslee

Suzi Peaslee

Funding Specialist
suzi@hougumlaw.com

Ann Handrick

Ann Handrick

Funding Specialist
ann@hougumlaw.com

Micki Scheunemann

Micki Scheunemann

Trust Admin & Probate Paralegal
micki@hougumlaw.com

Luke Hardy

Luke Hardy

Trust Admin & Probate Legal Assistant
luke@hougumlaw.com

Greta Dailey

Greta Dailey

Client Services Coordinator (Rhinelander)
greta@hougumlaw.com

Terin Rampart

Terin Rampart

Support Specialist
terin@hougumlaw.com

i

Newsletters

Blog Posts

Podcasts

FAQs

Logo Wausau Region Chamber of Commerce - Time to Grow
Lawyers With Purpose Logo