Meet Our Team

Meet Our Team

The team at Hougum Law Firm, LLC has one Mission: We are passionate about educating people who are concerned with preserving their assets. Now, during their lifetime, and after they pass.

Hougum Law Firm, LLC can help you protect yourself and the people you love with strategic wealth planning strategies. We serve all of Wisconsin with offices in Wausau and Rhinelander.

Alan Hougum

Alan Hougum

Attorney at Law

Alan's Bio

Alan L. Hougum grew up in Edgar, Wisconsin, just off of County Road N. He attended undergraduate school at UW-Madison, and worked as a forklift driver and a textbook salesman in Texas between semesters to pay for school. After graduating cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School, Alan returned to central Wisconsin to practice in the areas of Estate Planning and Elder Law. In 2013, Alan opened Hougum Law Firm, LLC in Wausau.  A satellite office in Rhinelander opened in 2021. Alan has been practicing law for more than twenty years, and currently resides in Wausau with his wife and two children.

Practice Areas: Estate Planning; Probate and Trust Administration; Business Law

Education: B.S., University of Wisconsin – Madison, 1995

J.D., University of Minnesota Law School; (cum laude) 1999

Admitted To Practice:
Wisconsin Supreme Court

Bar Associations:
American Bar Association, State Bar of Wisconsin, Minnesota State Bar Association, Marathon County Bar Association

Civic Activities:
Camp HOPE, Counselor
Camp HOPE, Director
Legal Assistance to Military Personnel, Volunteer
Junior Achievement, Project Business Consultant
Legal Assistance at the Marathon County ADRC, Volunteer
United Way, Group Leader
Big Brothers/Big Sisters of North Central Wisconsin, Big Brother
Marathon County Public Library Foundation, Board of Directors

Amanda Trecartin

Amanda Trecartin

Attorney at Law

Amanda's Bio

Amanda M. Trecartin obtained her bachelor’s degree in social work from Andrews University where she graduated summa cum laude. She attended law school at UW-Madison, where she served as a Senior Managing Editor of the Wisconsin Law Review. During law school she also worked in the Family Court Clinic where she helped low-income individuals with divorce and custody issues. Amanda practices estate planning, elder law, guardianship, and special needs planning. In her free time Amanda enjoys running, hiking, and exploring the Ice Age Trail with her goldendoodle.

Tracey Wall

Tracey Wall

Attorney at Law (Rhinelander)

Tracey's Bio

Tracey L. Wall obtained her bachelor’s degree in 2007 from Roosevelt University, focusing on paralegal studies. She attended law school at William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota. Prior to law school, she worked as a paralegal with an immigration law firm in Chicago. She spent many years working as corporate counsel for a large Wisconsin-based home improvement retailer. She is excited for her next adventure in Estate Planning and Elder Law. Tracey recently joined the Rhinelander community and has enjoyed exploring the local landscape. Tracey and her husband enjoy trying new restaurants and spending time outdoors.

Crystal Sargent

Crystal Lee Sargent

Attorney at Law

Crystal's Bio

Crystal Lee Sargent acquired a Juris Doctor and Bachelor of Science in Law from Northwestern California University School of Law and has been named an “Notable Alum”. She graduated summa cum laude from the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire with a Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration combined with a Leadership Certificate and an International Business Certificate. With nearly a decade of diverse public and private sector legal experience starting as a legal secretary to most recently, two years in-house as an Associate General Counsel, her empathy, compassion and talents in estate planning, legal writing, legal research, and document drafting allow her to find viable solutions to Client’s estate requests. Crystal practices trust administration and probate, elder law, guardianship, estate planning, and LLC business entity creation. In her free time Crystal enjoys international travel, mixed marital arts, and spending time with her husband and three children.

Katarina Lepinski

Katarina Lepinski

Director of Operations
kat@hougumlaw.com

Alex Pagel Law Clerk

Alex Pagel

Law Clerk
alex@hougumlaw.com

Mindy Nyseth

Mindy Nyseth

Drafting Paralegal
mindy@hougumlaw.com

Ali Wiskofske

Ali Wiskofske

Human Resources Manager
ali@hougumlaw.com

RoseMary Soderlund 2024

RoseMary Soderlund

BookKeeper
rosemary@hougumlaw.com

Suzi Peaslee

Suzi Peaslee

Client Maintenance Manager
suzi@hougumlaw.com

Maegge Schmitz

Maegge Schmitz

Funding Specialist
maegge@hougumlaw.com

Cindy Lor

Cindy Lor

Funding Specialist
cindy@hougumlaw.com

McKenzie Monroe

McKenzie Monroe

Funding Specialist
mckenzie@hougumlaw.com

Ann Handrick

Ann Handrick

Remote Funding Specialist
ann@hougumlaw.com

Alison Ritchie

Alison Ritchie

Client Services Coordinator
alison@hougumlaw.com

Greta Dailey

Greta Dailey

Funding Specialist (Rhinelander)
greta@hougumlaw.com

Tiffany Stockman

Tiffany Stockman

Support Specialist
tiffany@hougumlaw.com

Riaan Grobler

Riaan Grobler

Probate/Trust Administration
riaan@hougumlaw.com

Charlie Richardson

Charlie Richardson

Probate/Trust Administration
charlie@hougumlaw.com

Samantha Reichl

Samantha Reichl

Medicaid Assistant
sam@hougumlaw.com

Katie Barbian

Katie Barbian

Support Specialist (Rhinelander)
katie@hougumlaw.com

Tami Carden

Tami Carden

Support Specialist
tami@hougumlaw.com

Taylor Shurtleff

Taylor Shurtleff

Legal Assistant (Rhinelander)
taylor@hougumlaw.com

Amber Borski

Amber Borski

Executive Assistant
amber@hougumlaw.com

i

Newsletters

Blog Posts

Podcasts

FAQs

Logo Wausau Region Chamber of Commerce - Time to Grow
Lawyers With Purpose