Photo of Hougum Law Firm Team Members

Meet Our Team

About Hougum Law Firm, LLC | Wausau WI

Alan Hougum & his compassionate team will help you protect yourself and the people you love with strategic wealth planning strategies, such as wills and trusts, powers of attorney, estate trusts, Elder Law planning, Medicaid crisis planning, Medicaid eligibility and application, probate and estate administration, avoiding probate, veterans benefits (Aid & Attendance), charitable planning and giving, special needs, estate tax planning, business succession planning, and asset protection. Hougum Law Firm serves the entire Wausau, WI area.

Headshot Photo of Attorney Alan Hougum

Alan Hougum

Attorney At Law

Mindy Nyseth Head shot photo

Mindy Nyseth

Paralegal
mindy@hougumlaw.com

Photo of Sophie Reiss

Sophie Reiss

Client Services Coordinator
sophie@hougumlaw.com

Photo of Melody Price

Melody Scales

Funding Specialist
melody@hougumlaw.com

Photo of Zoey Vecellio

Zoey Vecellio

Director of Operations
zoey@hougumlaw.com

Photo of Kat Lepinski

Kat Lepinski

Legal Assistant
kat@hougumlaw.com

Photo of Maegge Moravec

Maegge Moravec

Funding Specialist
maegge@hougumlaw.com

Photo of Renee Mijal

Renee Mijal

Legal Assistant
renee@hougumlaw.com

Alan Hougum

Alan Hougum

Attorney At Law

Practice Areas: Estate Planning; Probate and Trust Administration; Business Law

Education: B.S., University of Wisconsin – Madison, 1995
                  J.D., University of Minnesota Law School; (cum laude) 1999

Admitted To Practice:
Wisconsin Supreme Court

Bar Associations:
American Bar Association, State Bar of Wisconsin, Minnesota State Bar Association, Marathon County Bar Association

Civic Activities:
Camp HOPE, Counselor
Camp HOPE, Director
Legal Assistance to Military Personnel, Volunteer
Junior Achievement, Project Business Consultant
Legal Assistance at the Marathon County ADRC, Volunteer
United Way, Group Leader
Big Brothers/Big Sisters of North Central Wisconsin, Big Brother
Marathon County Public Library Foundation, Board of Directors

Background Information: Alan grew up in Edgar, Wisconsin, just off of County Road N. He attended undergraduate school at UW-Madison, and worked as a forklift driver and a textbook salesman in Texas between semesters to pay for school. After graduating cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School, Alan returned to the Wausau area to practice in the areas of Estate Planning and Business Law. Alan has been practicing law in the Wausau area for nearly twenty years.

Alan currently resides in Wausau with his wife and two children.